Weinstock Recipient Named at ESA Leadership Summit

ORLANDO, Fla. — The Electronic Security Association (ESA) named its 2012 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Wednesday, during the 2013 ESA Leadership Summit here.

Madison, Wis.-based Capital Fire & Security Partner David Koenig earned the coveted Weinstock award. Considered the highest honor in the electronic security industry, the accolade recognizes an individual for their outstanding achievement and ongoing efforts on behalf of the association.

Koenig, who has served as ESA’s treasurer since 2007, joined the security industry in 1981 as a central station dispatcher for Mid-Wisconsin Security. He has also held a number of management positions for firms that have provided electronic access control, intrusion and fire alarm systems, uniformed security officers and patrol services, central station monitoring services and locksmithing. His experience includes sales, system installation, project management, design, budgeting, consulting and business management.

Throughout the years, Koenig has chaired ESA’s budget/audit committee and the investment committee. In 2010, Koenig earned the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award, which is presented to an ESA committee chair who has displayed outstanding leadership.

“David’s knowledge, experience, and leadership have had a significant impact on our association and the industry,” ESA President John Knox says. “We are proud to honor David with this award for the countless hours he has dedicated to ESA as a volunteer leader.”

In recent years, the Weinstock Award has been revealed during the Electronic Security Expo (ESX). However, this year, and going forward, the recipient of the Weinstock Award will be announced at the Leadership Summit. The formal presentation of the award will take place at ESX. This year’s ESA Weinstock/Jackson Award celebration will be held in Nashville, Tenn. on June 18.



Get Our Newsletters