Illinois to Require CO Detectors in Rental Homes and Apartments
A newly passed, statewide Illinois law will require at least one carbon monoxide (CO) detector in most homes and apartments when it takes effect in January.
The new law, entitled “The Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector Act,” enacted by Illinois lawmakers this year, will require a CO detector within 15 feet of every bedroom opening. .
According to John Fennell, chief legal counsel for the State of Illinois Fire Marshal’s Office, this newly passed law resembles the state’s smoke detector act that legislators passed in 1987. Fennell backs the measure because of its lifesaving potential.
For those property owners and landlords who fail to heed the new law come January, the penalty will be six months in jail and a fine of $1,500.
Another aspect of the new lifesaving measure is penalties for tenants to destroy a CO detector. Tenants who disable or destroy one of these detectors face a Class B misdemeanor charge for the first offense. A second offense would require a Class 4 felony charge, which usually results in a maximum of three years in jail.
If you enjoyed this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!
Security Is Our Business, Too
For professionals who recommend, buy and install all types of electronic security equipment, a free subscription to Commercial Integrator + Security Sales & Integration is like having a consultant on call. You’ll find an ideal balance of technology and business coverage, with installation tips and techniques for products and updates on how to add to your bottom line.
A FREE subscription to the top resource for security and integration industry will prove to be invaluable.