Tech Systems Earns TMA Five Diamond Designation

The designation is granted annually to monitoring centers that satisfy commitment to all requirements of the “five points of excellence.”

BUFORD, Ga. — Security integrator Tech Systems, based here, has obtained the TMA Five Diamond Monitoring Center designation.

The designation is administered by The Monitoring Association. In particular it confirms that a monitoring company has demonstrated an exceptionally high degree of responsibility to their local community and their customers through the investment of time, money and commitment to quality operator training.

Tech Systems is a provider of integrated security solutions for a diverse range of national and international clients. Since 1987, the integrator has specialized in the design, integration and ongoing support services of electronic security products and business solutions for compliance, liability prevention, process applications and asset protection.

“This designation proves Tech Systems commitment to the innovation and quality with regard to the clients we serve in our monitoring center,” says Wayne Smith, president of Tech Systems.

The designation is granted annually to monitoring centers that satisfy commitment to all requirements of the “five points of excellence”:

  • Ongoing job-related education and testing by having 100% of its monitoring center operators certified using the TMA online training series on industry best practices.
  • Random inspections and quality criteria standards by a nationally recognized testing laboratory such as FM Approvals, Intertek/ETL and UL.
  • Raising the industry standards through TMA membership and participation in its activities.
  • Reducing false dispatches.
  • Perform the highest levels of customer service.

Operators serve as the life-saving link between residential or business properties and the police, fire and emergency services in local areas. The TMA Monitoring Center Operator course covers virtually all phases of monitoring center communications with customers, police, fire and emergency services communications centers.

In order to achieve the Five Diamond designation, each and every operator must not only pass the course, but demonstrate:

  • Proficiency in alarm confirmation process, which helps reduce false alarms
  • Proficiency in communications with Public Service Answering Points, such as the Emergency 911centers
  • Knowledge of electronic communications equipment, including, cellular, radio and Internet communication systems
  • An understanding of the codes and standards of such organizations as Underwriters Laboratories, Factory Mutual, the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and others
  • Proficiency in the area of emergency preparedness under a wide scenario of possibilities

There are approximately 2,700 monitoring centers in the United States that communicate and interact with police, fire and emergency services agencies. Of this group, fewer than 200 monitoring centers have achieved the Five Diamond designation, setting these companies apart, according to TMA.

If you enjoyed this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Security Is Our Business, Too

For professionals who recommend, buy and install all types of electronic security equipment, a free subscription to Commercial Integrator + Security Sales & Integration is like having a consultant on call. You’ll find an ideal balance of technology and business coverage, with installation tips and techniques for products and updates on how to add to your bottom line.

A FREE subscription to the top resource for security and integration industry will prove to be invaluable.

Subscribe Today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Our Newsletters