Back to article:

The Ultimate Guide to Securing Critical Infrastructure

Additionally, there are seven tenets DHS mandates in order to limit losses when any portion of our nation’s critical infrastructure areas are attacked from within or without, “representing the values and assumptions the CI should consider when planning for CI security and resilience.”

In brief, these tenets are:

  • Identify risks and potential weaknesses within the CI.
  • Identify risks from cross-sector dependencies and interdependencies.
  • Information sharing between stakeholders helps identify infrastructure risks interdependencies.
  • Partnering in the protection of CI with an understanding of the unique perspective that each brings to the table.
  • Forming regional and SLTT partnerships, critical to the developing of shared perspectives to solve gaps and devise action plans.
  • Extending public and private sector collaboration across borders and procuring agreements that serve to connect key stakeholders.
  • Designers at all levels need to consider security and resilience when designing assets, systems, and networks.

The last tenet connects with what security and systems integrators do when it comes to the protection of all 16 critical infrastructures. In addition, because security servicemen as well as installers do a good bit of driving as part of their jobs, they are part of a nationwide communication network of individuals who are called upon by DHS to be vigilant and ready to report anything that appears to threaten any of the 16 critical infrastructures. As they say, “If you see something, say something.”

Get Our Newsletters