False Alarms: Council Approves Escalating Fines, Alarm System Registration in Abilene, Texas
Ordinance passed after 95% of alarm calls Abilene Police Department responded to in 2014 were false alarms.
ABILENE, Texas — The city of Abilene has implemented a new ordinance aimed at reducing the number of false alarms that the Abilene Police Department respond to.
The first, second and third false alarms will not result in a fine, but fourth and fifth calls will prompt a $50 fine, according to a KTXS report. The sixth and seventh will result in a $75 fine, and any other additional false alarms will be $100.
RELATED: Kansas Community to Begin False Alarm Fine Program
The ordinance, passed 6-1 by the city council, was approved after only 5% of 5,000 alarm calls that the APD responded to in 2014 ended up being related to actual crimes.
“Those alarms are priority No. 1, which means they have to be dispatched between two minutes of receiving the notice,” Abilene Police Chief Stan Standridge said.
The council also approved a yearly permit for those owning a security alarm system — $20 for homeowners and $50 for business owners.
The city has 4,182 residential security systems and 1,682 commercial systems registered, according to the report.
RELATED: County in New York Passes False Alarm Law Requiring Permits, Implementing Fines
If you enjoyed this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!
Security Is Our Business, Too
For professionals who recommend, buy and install all types of electronic security equipment, a free subscription to Security Sales & Integration is like having a consultant on call. You’ll find an ideal balance of technology and business coverage, with installation tips and techniques for products and updates on how to add sales to your bottom line.
A free subscription to the #1 resource for the residential and commercial security industry will prove to be invaluable. Subscribe today!