TMA Welcomes New President Morgan Hertel, Bestows Awards

Hertel began a two-year term at the conclusion of the TMA Annual Meeting, during which the association named honorees for its highest awards.

McLEAN, Va. — The Monitoring Association (TMA) announced Morgan Hertel, vice president of technology and innovation, Rapid Response Monitoring, as its new president. He officially began a two-year term on Oct. 14 at the conclusion of TMA’s 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting.

Hertel recently served a two-year term as vice president on the TMA Executive Committee leading up to his presidency. He succeeds Don Young, executive vice president and COO of ADT. Young will serve an additional two-year term as immediate past president on the TMA Executive Committee.

“TMA is a very unique trade association in that it supports a culture of inclusiveness that both encourages and nurtures positive, productive collaboration,” says Hertel. “Most members have deep connections with other members and are able and open to working together for the betterment of the industry.”

Hertel, a contributor to SSI‘s “Monitoring Matters” column, will focus on preparing TMA to meet the rapidly evolving needs of its members as technology increases at an exponential rate. While he acknowledges that much of the latest advances haven’t yet reached today’s monitoring centers, one of his primary goals is to bridge that gap.

Hertel says this will require an active, healthy standards group; continued expansion of the ASAP-to-PSAP program; and expanded education to ensure monitoring centers possess a thorough understanding of the latest technologies.

“While I never consciously aspired to be the president of TMA, I have always been a strong, active proponent of the notion of giving back or paying it forward,” says Hertel. “I strongly believe that individuals are called to give back to the industry in which they work. While there are, admittedly, a myriad of ways to do that, for me, this is part of executing on that belief.”

Also during the Virtual Annual Meeting, held Oct. 12-14, Young announced honorees for the association’s hightest awards. They are:

Stanley C. Lott Memorial Award


Robert Bean

The Stanley C. Lott Memorial Award, regarded as TMA’s top award, was established in 1991 to honor its namesake, a dedicated leader and past president. The award recognizes exceptional leadership and support. The 2021 winner is TMA Past President Robert R. Bean, formerly of Alert Alarm of Hawaii.

“Two words that epitomized Stan Lott’s character are integrity and dedication. These words, likewise, can be attributed to this year’s award winner today,” said Young. “As chair of the Membership Committee, the award winner was a driving force to increase TMA membership, including international members. Countless hours were devoted to TMA’s interests in ESX, which served as TMA’s Mid-year Meeting for a number of years. He is truly all that Stanley Lott represented.”

Mel Mahler Award


Glenn Schroeder

Formerly known as the President’s Award, the Mel Mahler Award is presented at the discretion of the TMA president in recognition of outstanding contributions within his/her tenure. The 2021 winner is TMA Standards Committee Chair Glenn Schroeder.

Schroeder, who serves as CTO at NetOne, was honored for his collaboration with monitoring professionals within the TMA community, as well as public safety and communications professionals, along with intruding new technologies, standards and processes aimed at reducing risk and heightening safety and security.

“It is difficult to capture the magnitude of this member’s commitment in words. Suffice to say, I am enormously grateful to have had this professional on my leadership team over the last two years,” said Young. “This recipient’s contributions will most certainly significantly impact the future of TMA, our industry, and the families and businesses we protect for decades to come.”

Public Sector Award


David Holl

This special honor, established in 2015, is presented by TMA to a public safety professional whose contributions have supported the monitoring industry’s mission to protect and save life and property. The 2021 award goes to to David Holl, Director of Public Safety, Lower Allen Township in Camp Hill, Pa.

“This year, our recipient has demonstrated a selfless commitment to the development of TMA’s latest standard, the Alarm Validation Scoring Standard (TMA AVS-01-2020),” stated Young. “The role of public safety in this initiative cannot be underestimated by any measure. Not only has this year’s recipient dedicated personal knowledge, experience, and expertise, but has additionally proactively recruited additional professional resources to commit to the advancement of this groundbreaking standard.”

If you enjoyed this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Security Is Our Business, Too

For professionals who recommend, buy and install all types of electronic security equipment, a free subscription to Commercial Integrator + Security Sales & Integration is like having a consultant on call. You’ll find an ideal balance of technology and business coverage, with installation tips and techniques for products and updates on how to add to your bottom line.

A FREE subscription to the top resource for security and integration industry will prove to be invaluable.

Subscribe Today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Our Newsletters